Blog/Guides

Crypto Card Shutdowns 2026: 90 Days or No Notice

Kardd Team|October 17, 2026|13 min read
KEY TAKEAWAYS6 WIND-DOWNS SCORED17 OCTOBER 2026
  • The UK answer changed on 28 April 2026 and nobody in this market has mentioned it. Regulation 51B now demands 90 days' notice, a reason “sufficiently detailed and specific” to understand the closure, and the complaint and ombudsman routes. The old rule was two months and no reason at all.
  • It only attaches to a contract entered on or after that date. An older card falls under regulation 51A: two months, and only if the contract so provides. Most cardholders are still on the old regime.
  • Warning actually given, in days, across six programmes: 90, 75, 32, ~30, 0 and 0. Gnosis Pay gave exactly the new statutory 90. Two cards went dark the day their issuer failed.
  • The contracts mostly promise nothing. Crypto.com's US agreement reserves cancellation “with or without cause or notice”; KAST reserves it “at any time, without notice”; the seven-clause XHYPE terms behind the card we earn most from carry no termination provision at all.
  • One asymmetry worth knowing. Under that US agreement a cheque for your balance costs a fee when you close the card and is explicitly free when they cancel it.
Affiliate Disclosure: Kardd.co may earn a commission on some sign-ups. Nothing here is a paid placement, and no commercial relationship softened a finding — including the one about the card we earn the most from. Every clause was read from the issuer's own document or the legislation on 17 October 2026. Full disclosure. Nothing here is legal or financial advice.

In July 2026 two crypto cards stopped working on the same afternoon, and their users found out from the point-of-sale terminal. Crypto card shutdowns are now a category rather than an incident, and the question nobody here answers is the one that decides what a shutdown costs you: how much warning are you owed? There is a real answer, it changed in the UK on 28 April 2026, and we could not find one crypto card page that cites it. We read the amended regulations, the Irish transposition, four programmes' own terms and six wind-down notices, and scored every one.

Flat vector illustration on a near-black field: a violet payment card lying flat with its right-hand third dissolving into scattered squares that drift away and fade out, beneath a thin grey timeline rule carrying three widely spaced tick marks near the left and then a long empty stretch ending in a blunt cut-off

The year the issuer failed, not the card

The failures that defined 2026 did not start at the brand on the plastic. They started one layer down, at the licensed issuer or the infrastructure company that the brand rented, and the brand found out roughly when its customers did.

Kulipa, a card-issuing infrastructure provider, wound down at the end of July. Solflare paused its card on 28 July 2026 — “Both the virtual and physical cards went dark the same day”, as the trade coverage put it. Ready shut its programme the same week and its co-founder said publicly that the company had been given no notice. Trade reports put the affected programmes at around twenty.

The second pattern is quieter and more common: the infrastructure provider gets bought and the card is not part of the deal. Nium acquired Cypher in July 2026; Cypher's own wind-down pages, updated 7 July 2026, disabled card loading the next day. The Moonwell Card, which ran on Cypher, stopped with it.

A note on the Kulipa dates. We could not find any statement from Kulipa itself, and the secondary reports disagree: one puts the wind-down on 29 July, another has Solflare stopping on 28 July, and Ready's shutdown is dated 30 July by one outlet and 31 July by others. We are reporting the disagreement rather than picking a date, because it is the finding. When there is no notice document, there is no authoritative date either — and a cardholder trying to work out when their last transaction settled has nothing to read.

Six wind-downs and the warning each gave

Here are the programmes we could date against a published notice or contemporaneous report. “Days of warning” counts from the earliest dated notice we could find to the day the card stopped authorising — not to the withdrawal deadline, which is usually later and is a separate number in the next column.

ProgrammeNotice datedCard stopsDays of warningFinal withdrawal
Gnosis Pay21 Sep 202620 Dec 2026, 23:59 UTC90No deadline — stays open
BasedApp (Singapore)1 Sep 202515 Nov 20257530 Nov 2025, then swept to USDC
Cypher Card7 Jul 20268 Aug 2026, 00:00 UTC326 Sep 2026
Moonwell CardJul 2026, undatedafter 7 Aug 2026~306 Sep 2026
Solflare CardNone28 Jul 20260n/a — funds self-custodial
Ready CardNonelate Jul 20260n/a — funds self-custodial

Six programmes, read 17 October 2026. The spread runs from the full statutory 90 days to none at all.

The median is not the risk. Four of the six gave between thirty and ninety days; the two that gave nothing are the two whose issuer failed rather than retired. And the withdrawal deadline is the number that bites — only one programme here does not have one.

Horizontal bar chart of the warning each of six crypto card wind-downs actually gave: Gnosis Pay 90 days and BasedApp Singapore 75 days in green, Cypher Card 32 days and Moonwell Card about 30 days in amber, and Solflare Card and Ready Card at none in red
The warning actually given across six programmes was 90 days, 75, 32, about 30, zero and zero.
Screenshot of Gnosis Pay's help-centre page headed Formal notice, closure of the Gnosis Pay web app and card, 21 September 2026, showing the notice date of 21 September 2026 and the line stating the card and web app will stop working at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026
The notice itself: dated 21 September 2026, with the card stopping at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. That is the 90 days.

What the law requires before they close you

Ask how much notice is owed and the honest answer is a jurisdiction, not a number. Three regimes cover most cards this site tracks, and they sit further apart than the marketing suggests.

The United Kingdom rewrote its rule on 28 April 2026. Regulations 51 to 51D of the Payment Services Regulations 2017 were substituted that day by the Payment Services and Payment Accounts (Contract Termination) (Amendment) Regulations 2025. The new regulation 51B says a termination notice must contain “an explanation of the reasons for termination which is sufficiently detailed and specific to enable the payment service user to understand” it, must say how to complain to the provider and of any right to complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service, and must come “at least 90 days before the termination is to take effect”.

Regulation 51C then carves five situations out of that requirement entirely — among them being unable to complete customer due diligence, and having “reasonable grounds to suspect” the service has been used in connection with serious crime. Those exemptions matter more on a no-KYC card than on a current account.

The EEA still runs on two months. Ireland's transposition, regulation 79(5) of S.I. No. 6/2018, is the clean statement: a provider “may terminate a framework contract concluded for an indefinite period by giving not less than 2 months' notice”, if agreed in the contract. No reason is required and no complaint route has to be named.

The United States contracts out of the question. The Crypto.com Prepaid Visa Cardholder Agreement, effective 1 September 2026, says at section 18 that the issuer may “revoke Card privileges, or cancel your Card with or without cause or notice, other than as required by applicable law”.

Where the card is licensedMinimum noticeReason required?Complaint route in the notice?
UK, contract from 28 Apr 202690 days (reg 51B(3))Yes — “detailed and specific”Yes, plus the ombudsman
UK, contract before that date2 months, if the contract says so (reg 51A)NoNo
Ireland / EEA2 months, if agreed (reg 79(5))NoNo
United States (per the agreement)None statedNo — “with or without cause”No
Offshore (Seychelles, UAE, Comoros)Whatever the contract says, which is usually nothingNoNo

The same card brand can sit in three of these rows at once, depending on which entity issued your card.

Table of the minimum notice each jurisdiction requires before a payment account is closed: a UK contract entered from 28 April 2026 gets 90 days under regulation 51B(3) with a detailed and specific reason and the ombudsman route, highlighted; a UK contract before that date gets two months only if the contract says so under regulation 51A, with no reason and no complaint route; Ireland and the EEA get two months if agreed under regulation 79(5); the United States gets none stated and closure with or without cause; and offshore jurisdictions get whatever the contract says, which is usually nothing
The UK answer changed on 28 April 2026, and which side of that date your contract falls on decides everything.
Screenshot of legislation.gov.uk showing The Payment Services Regulations 2017, Part 6, Framework contracts, Regulation 51, with a changes-over-time timeline marking the original version of 13 January 2018 and a substitution dated 28 April 2026
The substitution this article turns on, on the legislation's own changes-over-time timeline: 28 April 2026.

Why the 90-day rule probably misses you

The headline is the easy half. The qualification is the half that decides whether any of it applies to the card in your pocket, and it is written into the regulations themselves: the 90-day rule in regulation 51B governs a framework contract “entered into on or after 28th April 2026”. Everything signed before that date stays under regulation 51A, which preserves the old position word for word — “by giving at least two months' notice, if the contract so provides”.

Read that conditional clause twice. Under regulation 51A the two months is not a floor the law imposes on the provider; it is a floor on a right the contract has to grant first. A pre-April agreement that says nothing about provider-initiated termination notice does not thereby owe you two months. Providers may extend the new standard to older contracts voluntarily, and some will. None of the crypto card terms we read says it has.

The practical ladder: a card opened since late April 2026 carries a real 90-day entitlement with reasons and an ombudsman behind it; one opened earlier carries two months at best; one issued from Dubai, the Seychelles or the Comoros carries whatever its clauses say. Which is the next section, and it is bleak.

What the card terms themselves promise

We read four programmes' own documents looking for one thing: what does this contract commit to before it switches your card off? The answers run from an explicit reservation of the right to give no warning at all, to a provision that does not exist.

KAST is the most forthright. Its platform terms reserve the right “to terminate, suspend, or limit your use of its Services at any time, without notice, at its sole discretion”, and separately to “discontinue the Services… at any time, for any reason, without notice to the user”. There is a counterweight doing a lot of work: if the company closes your account “you will be notified of such action as required by law”. The company is KAST Tech, registered in Anjouan in the Comoros, under the laws of Seychelles — so that clause is not asking for 90 days. The same document says that on the company's “failure, bankruptcy or liquidation” you are not protected by consumer law at home.

Coca is the only one that addresses a wind-down directly. If it withdraws the wallet altogether, “we'll endeavor to give you two months' notice” — an endeavour rather than an obligation, 30 days short of the UK standard, and the clause adds that no fees are refunded.

XHYPE, whose terms cover the card this site earns the most from, publishes seven clauses last updated 4 June 2025, with no termination, notice or wind-down clause. Clause 2 says “We are not a card issuer” and names no issuer; clause 6 disclaims liability for damage from the “use or unavailability of services” — the shutdown scenario, named and excluded.

ProgrammeNotice the contract promisesGoverning lawDocument date
Gnosis Pay90 days, delivered in practice; issuer FCA- and Bank of Lithuania-authorisedUK / LithuaniaNotice 21 Sep 2026
Coca“Endeavor” two months, on withdrawing the wallet; no fee refundNot stated on the pageUndated
Crypto.com (US)“With or without cause or notice, other than as required by applicable law”United States1 Sep 2026
KAST“At any time, without notice”; notified “as required by law”Seychelles7 Jul 2026
XHYPE (xKard)No termination, notice or wind-down clause existsUnited Arab Emirates4 Jun 2025

Four contracts and one delivered notice. Only the regulated one promises a number you could hold anybody to.

Table of what five programmes' own terms promise: Gnosis Pay 90 days delivered in practice under UK and Lithuanian law, notice dated 21 September 2026, highlighted; Coca an endeavour of two months with no fee refund, governing law not stated, undated; Crypto.com US closure with or without cause or notice, dated 1 September 2026; KAST at any time without notice under Seychelles law, dated 7 July 2026; and XHYPE xKard, under United Arab Emirates law, where no termination or notice clause exists at all, dated 4 June 2025
Three programmes reserve closure without notice outright, and a fourth has no termination clause of any kind.

The ten-part notice, scored

Gnosis Pay's notice of 21 September 2026 is the most complete exit document in this market, so we broke it into ten elements and scored the others against it. Three are now compelled in the UK by regulation 51B; the other seven are discretionary everywhere, which makes them the real test.

ElementUK law?Gnosis PayCypherKulipa-hit cards
Dated notice, 90 days aheadYesYesDated, 32 daysNo
A specific reasonYesYesYes — the acquisitionVia press only
Complaint route and ombudsmanYesYes, both entitiesSupport email onlyNo
Separate deadlines, not oneNoFourThreeNo
Pending authorisations addressedNoYesNot in the pages we readNo
Chargeback rights preservedNoTo 12 Jun 2028Expressly withdrawnNo
Export your history, told plainlyNoYesYesNo
Licensed issuer and regulator namedNoBoth, with reference numbersNoNo
Withdrawal outlives the cardNoYes29 days past the cardNot applicable
Route for a balance left behindNoSelf-custodial, stays yoursWithdraw or lose accessSelf-custodial, stays yours

Ten elements, read from the notices themselves. Blank cells are not inferences: where a programme publishes nothing, the cell says so.

The sharpest difference is the chargeback row. Gnosis Pay keeps dispute support running twenty months past the card's last day and says cessation “does not affect your rights” under scheme rules. Cypher says the opposite in one sentence: “we will no longer be accepting new chargebacks or dispute requests”, and points users at the merchant. Both are legitimate choices; neither card's terms flagged which one you were buying. What a scheme dispute is actually worth is in our guide to crypto card chargebacks.

Table scoring ten elements of a wind-down notice against UK law, Gnosis Pay, Cypher and the Kulipa-hit cards: a dated 90-day notice, a specific reason and a complaint route are required by law and supplied by Gnosis Pay; separate deadlines, pending authorisations, chargeback rights preserved to 12 June 2028, history export, the licensed issuer and regulator named with reference numbers, withdrawal outliving the card, and a route for a balance left behind are not required by any regulation and Gnosis Pay supplied them anyway, while Cypher expressly withdrew chargeback rights and the Kulipa-hit cards supplied almost none of it
Six of the ten elements are not required by any regulation. One programme supplied all ten.

Custody decides whether a notice matters

There is an uncomfortable symmetry in the register above. The two programmes that gave zero notice are the two where nobody lost money: the cards pulled from the user's own self-custodial wallet at the moment of purchase, so no balance sat with the failed issuer. The one that gave a full 90 days is self-custodial too.

That is not an argument that notice does not matter — a card that dies mid-holiday is a real problem. It is an argument that notice and exposure are separate axes, and a card can be bad on one and fine on the other. A custodial prepaid card with a generous notice period still turns your balance into a claim on a company, which is why the withdrawal deadline rather than the card-off date is the number to diary.

The best single design in the whole set is BasedApp's, and it is not a disclosure at all. After the 30 November 2025 deadline, any residual over one US dollar was converted to USDC and sent to the user's own linked self-custodial wallet. A sweep to an address the user already controls makes the deadline survivable by people who never read the email — which is most people. None of the other five did this.

Where a balance actually sits, and what “protected” means in four regimes, is in the balance protection guide; why this keeps happening to no-KYC programmes is in why no-KYC crypto cards shut down.

The cheque that is free only when they cancel

One clause reverses an assumption almost everybody holds. Section 28 of the Crypto.com US cardholder agreement sets out two routes for a residual balance. If you close the card you may spend it to zero, or request a cheque, “which we will do for a fee as set forth in the Schedule of All Fees and Charges”. If they cancel it: “we will send you a check in the amount of your Card Account balance for no charge”.

Being shut down is, on that document, cheaper than leaving — the mirror image of the exit pricing in our survey of crypto card closure fees, where seven of nine Crypto.com schedules print a closure figure and the US one prints “Close card — No charge” on every tier.

An open question we are not going to answer for you. UK regulation 51(2) says any termination charge “must reasonably correspond to the actual costs… of termination”, and 51(3) says a provider “may not charge… for the termination of a framework contract after the expiry of 6 months”. Ireland's regulation 79(3) is the same rule from the other side: termination is free unless the contract has run under six months. Several UK and EU card schedules in this market print a flat 50 to close. Whether a given charge is a termination charge within those provisions, and whether a given card is a framework contract at all, is a question for the issuer and ultimately the ombudsman — but if you are being billed to leave a UK or EEA card you have held for over six months, it is a question worth putting to them in writing.

What to do the day a notice lands

The order matters, because the deadlines in these notices are not the same deadline wearing different hats.

  1. Write down every date separately. Card-off, withdrawal close, support close, dispute close. Gnosis Pay published four; Cypher three. The one that strands people is the withdrawal date, weeks after the card stops working, ignored because the card already feels dead.
  2. Export your transaction history first. It is the only item here that becomes impossible rather than merely expensive once access ends.
  3. Move the balance out early, not at the deadline. A closing programme's withdrawal queue is where a last-minute transfer reliably fails.
  4. Cancel recurring payments at each merchant. No issuer can move a subscription for you, and a failed renewal costs you a service rather than a fee.
  5. Check whether disputes are still open before relying on one. One of these six stopped accepting new chargebacks as part of its wind-down.
  6. If you are in the UK and the notice gives no reason, say so. A regulation 51B notice has to explain itself and point you at the Financial Ombudsman Service. If yours does neither and your contract started after 28 April 2026, that is a complaint with a named destination.

The pre-emptive version is one question: before you load a card, find out which entity issues it and where that entity is licensed. On every contract above, that one fact predicted the rest.

Picking a card that will still exist next year?

Shutdown risk does not show up in a fee table. Our comparison lists who issues each card and where, alongside the running costs, so you can weigh the cheap one against the one with a regulator behind it.

Some links on Kardd are affiliate links and may earn us a commission. No commercial relationship changed a finding above, including the one about XHYPE's missing termination clause.

Sources

Related Articles

Frequently Asked Questions

How much notice must a crypto card issuer give before closing your account?

On the licence behind the card and when you signed up. UK regulation 51B, substituted 28 April 2026, requires at least 90 days plus a reason specific enough to understand the closure — but only for contracts entered on or after that date. Earlier ones fall under regulation 51A: two months, and only if the contract provides for it. Ireland's regulation 79(5) sets not less than two months.

What happens to my money if a crypto card shuts down?

On who was holding it. On a self-custodial card the balance never left your own wallet, so the card stops and the money does not — what Solflare and Ready cardholders found when Kulipa wound down. On a custodial prepaid card it is a claim on the programme and you are relying on a withdrawal window: Cypher's ran to 6 September 2026, and BasedApp swept anything over a dollar to the user's own wallet as USDC after 30 November 2025.

Which crypto cards shut down in 2026?

The ones we could date: the Solflare and Ready cards, both stopped at the end of July when their issuer Kulipa wound down; the Cypher Card and the Moonwell Card that ran on it, after Nium acquired Cypher, with the platform closing 6 September 2026; and the Gnosis Pay consumer card, ending 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026.

Can a crypto card be cancelled without notice?

As a matter of contract, in several of the agreements we read, yes. The Crypto.com US agreement says the card may be “canceled, repossessed, or revoked at any time without prior notice subject to applicable law”. KAST reserves termination “at any time, without notice, at its sole discretion”. Whether that holds depends on the licence behind the card rather than the wording, which is why the issuer's jurisdiction is the thing to check first.

Does the UK 90-day closure rule apply to my crypto card?

Only if the provider is a UK payment service provider, the arrangement is an indefinite framework contract, and you entered into it on or after 28 April 2026. Regulation 51C then removes the requirement in five situations, including an inability to complete customer due diligence — which bites harder on a low-verification card than on a current account. A card issued outside the UK and EEA carries none of this.

What does a complete crypto card shutdown notice contain?

Ten things, on the evidence of the best one published here. Gnosis Pay's notice of 21 September 2026 gives 90 days' warning, a stated reason, the complaint route and ombudsman for each entity, four deadlines rather than one, explicit handling of pre-cutoff authorisations, chargeback rights preserved to 12 June 2028, an instruction to export your history, the issuer named with its regulator and reference number, withdrawal left open after the app closes, and a position on any balance left behind.

What should I do the day a shutdown notice arrives?

Write every date down separately: card-off and withdrawal-close are different days, and the second strands people. Export your transaction history first — it is the only item that becomes impossible rather than expensive. Then move the balance out early, cancel recurring payments at each merchant, and check whether disputes are still being accepted.

Related Articles

Better offers. Fewer surprises.

Free updates on crypto card offers, fee changes and new ways to spend. One useful email a week, when there’s something worth sharing.

We may earn commission from affiliate links on this site at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure