Blog/Guides

Crypto Card Complaints 2026: Who Has to Answer

Kardd Team|October 29, 2026|13 min read
KEY TAKEAWAYS19 RULINGS READ29 OCTOBER 2026
  • The brand on your card is never the respondent. The rulings name FORISGFS UK Limited, Foris DAX MT Limited, Optimus Cards UK Limited and Wirex Limited.
  • Your issuer has 15 days, not eight weeks. The UK ombudsman allows 8 weeks on most complaints but only 15 days on payment services, e-money and scams — where a crypto card sits.
  • Two of six UK card complaints were upheld; none of four in Malta. The awards were £200 and £250 plus 8% simple interest, both for a block that ran too long rather than for the block.
  • The same complaint got opposite answers four months apart. An underpaid promotion was heard on the merits in the UK (DRN-6054093) and dismissed for want of competence in Malta (ASF 224/2024).
  • Your coins are valued on the day you lost them, never today. One decision refused interest on cryptoassets as “not money”; another refunded at the date-of-loss rate.
Affiliate Disclosure: Kardd.co may earn a commission on some sign-ups, XKard included. XKard is in the audit table below and it is the worst row in it, because the point of this page is the route and not the referral. Full disclosure. Every figure was read from a primary document on 29 October 2026. Nothing here is legal advice.

Your card stops working and support stops answering, and the next step is the thing nobody in this market has written down. Crypto card complaints have an escalation ladder, free at every rung, and the published guidance is too generic to use: complain to the firm, then the ombudsman, without saying which firm, which ombudsman, or what either has decided. So on 29 October 2026 we read nineteen published rulings — eight from the UK Financial Ombudsman Service and eleven against Crypto.com's Maltese entities — plus the complaint clauses in nine programmes' own terms. The clocks are shorter than anyone prints, and the outcomes are narrow in a useful way.

Flat illustration on near-black: a single blank rounded payment card tilted on its side in violet and amber, with a fan of thin concentric arcs radiating out from it that grow progressively more broken and dashed toward the edge of the frame

The brand on the card is never the respondent

Not one of the nineteen decisions is captioned against a name you would recognise from an app icon. They name FORISGFS UK Limited trading as Crypto.com, Foris DAX MT Limited, Foris MT Limited, Wirex Limited and Optimus Cards UK Limited, the firm behind the Uphold card. The entity you contracted with is the one that has to answer, so identifying it is step one of a complaint — see who actually issues your crypto card.

Here is what nine programmes publish about complaining. The last column is the one that matters: an external body, named by the provider, that will look at the complaint after the provider says no.

ProgrammeEntity that must answerRoute published?External body named
Crypto.com (UK)FORISGFS UK LimitedYes, in-app and help centreNone in the card docs; FOS takes them anyway
Crypto.com (EEA)Foris DAX MT Limited (C 88392); card with Foris MT LimitedYes — used in ASF 318/2025Arbiter for Financial Services (Malta)
Crypto.com (US)Community Federal Savings Bank; Foris, Inc. program managerYes, error resolution plus a CFPB lineCFPB complaint database; otherwise arbitration
WirexWirex LimitedUnreadable — card, pricing, plans URLs 404None published; FOS has decided 9 cases
OKX (Australia)Bano Pty Ltd, AFSL 536984; OKX Australia distributesYes — 30-day written outcomeAFCA, with contacts and time limits
PlutusBlock Code LT UAB (305848086), LithuaniaYes — 15 business days, 35 at the outsideNone; rewards declared outside the regulator's remit
KASTThird National; BANEX Microfinance Bank in Nigeria“Any complaint should be sent to KAST”None — AAA arbitration, class waiver
NexoNot stated on the page served to usNo — the terms text never loadedNone found
XKardXHYPE FZCO, Dubai — “not a card issuer”No — 241 words of terms, no procedureNone — “the courts of Dubai”

From each provider's own documents, 29 October 2026. Bybit, Coinbase, Gemini and RedotPay refused our requests and are left out rather than guessed at.

Table of what nine crypto card programmes publish about complaining, from their own documents on 29 October 2026. Crypto.com UK must answer as FORISGFS UK Limited with no external body in the card docs. Crypto.com EEA is Foris DAX MT Limited, C 88392, with the Arbiter for Financial Services in Malta. Crypto.com US is Community Federal Savings Bank, with the CFPB complaint database or arbitration. Wirex is Wirex Limited, its card, pricing and plans URLs 404, no external body published. OKX Australia is Bano Pty Ltd, AFSL 536984, and names AFCA with contacts and time limits. Plutus is Block Code LT UAB in Lithuania with no body named. KAST is Third National with AAA arbitration and a class waiver. Nexo states no entity. XKard is XHYPE FZCO of Dubai, 241 words of terms, ending at the courts of Dubai

The clock nobody in this market prints

Every route has two deadlines: how long the firm gets, and how long you get afterwards. Miss the second and the complaint dies regardless of merit. The UK figure repeated everywhere is eight weeks, and for a crypto card it is the wrong one.

The Financial Ombudsman Service is explicit: a business has up to 8 weeks on most complaints, but on fraud and scams, payment services and electronic money it has only 15 days. A prepaid card loaded from a wallet is a payment service funded by e-money, which puts most crypto card complaints in the 15-day box. You then have 6 months from the final response to refer it, and must have complained to the firm within 6 years of the problem or 3 years of realising you had cause.

WhereFirm's deadlineThenYour deadlineCost / ceiling
UK — payments, e-money, scams15 daysFinancial Ombudsman Service6 months from the final responseFree / £455,000
UK — everything elseUp to 8 weeksFinancial Ombudsman Service6 months from the final responseFree / £455,000
Malta15 working days, never past 35Arbiter for Financial ServicesRegister with the provider within 2 years of knowledgeFree / not published
EEA (Plutus's own terms)15 business days, 35 at the outsideNo body namedNot statedFree / none
Australia (OKX card)30 days, in writingAFCAAFCA's own limits — “act promptly”Free / not stated
US (Crypto.com prepaid)None publishedCFPB database; arbitration60 days to report an error; 45 days to reject arbitrationFree / no award power

The £455,000 ceiling applies to complaints referred on or after 1 April 2026 about acts on or after 1 April 2019; it is £205,000 for earlier acts. Nothing in nineteen decisions came within three orders of magnitude of either.

Table of complaint deadlines in six jurisdictions. In the UK on payments, e-money and scams the firm gets 15 days, then the Financial Ombudsman Service, and you get 6 months from the final response, free with a 455,000 pound ceiling. On everything else in the UK the firm gets up to 8 weeks. In Malta the firm gets 15 working days and never past 35, then the Arbiter for Financial Services, and you must register with the provider within 2 years of knowledge. Under Plutus's own EEA terms the firm gets 15 business days and 35 at the outside with no body named. In Australia the OKX card gives 30 days in writing then AFCA. In the US on the Crypto.com prepaid card no firm deadline is published, leaving the CFPB database and arbitration, with 60 days to report an error

Eight published UK decisions about crypto cards

The service publishes its final decisions in full, which makes it the only place you can read what an independent body did with a crypto card complaint. Eight concern the card or the account behind it: six about a block or closure, one a scam, one a promotion.

DecisionFirmComplaintOutcome
DRN-5941317FORISGFS UK Ltd (Crypto.com)Prepaid Visa suspended 23 March 2021, no reason givenNot upheld
DRN-5127266Optimus Cards UK Ltd (Uphold)Wallet and card closed; assets liquidated after 3 daysNot upheld
DRN-3780531Wirex LtdBlocked then closed immediately; review ran longUpheld — £200 plus 8% on £185.90
DRN-3422389Wirex LtdMoney withheld after it could have been freedUpheld — £250 plus 8% interest
DRN-5024631Wirex LtdAccess restricted, funds heldNot upheld
DRN-3855178Wirex LtdClosure after an unanswered source-of-funds requestNot upheld
DRN-5667499Wirex LtdScam payments sent on with no warningUpheld — date-of-loss refund, 8%, £100
DRN-6054093Wirex Ltd£100 card-spend promotion paid at £30£140 already paid, held fair

All eight read in full, 29 October 2026. A ninth, DRN-6308165, on gambling merchant-category coding, is covered in our blocked merchants guide.

Read the pattern, not the scores. Both wins were about how the firm blocked the account, never whether it could: in DRN-3780531 the ombudsman accepted Wirex was entitled to block and close, but found the review took “perhaps, a few weeks more than it should have”. That is what £200 buys, and nobody got their account back.

DRN-5941317 is the most instructive. The card was suspended in March 2021, the complaint raised in August 2024, and the decision asked the cardholder to accept or reject by 19 February 2026. It was not upheld: the service may take evidence in confidence, and “the evidence provided by Crypto.com in confidence demonstrates a clear and legitimate reason” he was never allowed to see. On timing it is blunt — “reviews of this nature do not have a prescriptive timeframe”.

Jurisdiction sinks more of these complaints than the merits do, and DRN-5127266 has the clearest statement of the test: “although cryptocurrency itself isn't regulated, this service can consider complaints involving cryptocurrency where it is ancillary to another regulated activity.” The Uphold account held fiat, e-money and crypto on one platform, so closing it was ancillary to e-money services.

The practical consequence. Frame the complaint around the regulated part — the card, the e-money balance, the payment, the closure — and not around the coins. DRN-5941317 draws the line in the same breath as it closes it: the card was in scope, and “the issues surrounding his crypto currencies are outside of this service's jurisdiction”.
Table of the eight published Financial Ombudsman Service decisions about crypto cards, all read in full on 29 October 2026. DRN-5941317 against FORISGFS UK Ltd over a prepaid Visa suspended in March 2021 was not upheld. DRN-5127266 against Optimus Cards UK Ltd over a closed wallet and card was not upheld. DRN-3780531 against Wirex Ltd was upheld at 200 pounds plus 8 per cent on 185.90 pounds because the review ran long. DRN-3422389 against Wirex was upheld at 250 pounds plus 8 per cent interest. DRN-5024631 and DRN-3855178 against Wirex were not upheld. DRN-5667499 against Wirex over scam payments was upheld with a date-of-loss refund, 8 per cent and 100 pounds. DRN-6054093 over a 100 pound promotion paid at 30 pounds was held fair

Eleven decisions against Crypto.com in Malta

Crypto.com's European arm is Maltese, so EEA cardholders escalate to Malta's Office of the Arbiter for Financial Services, which also publishes in full. Eleven decisions name Foris DAX MT Limited or Foris MT Limited — the largest public record of decided complaints against any crypto card operator, and as far as we can tell nobody has collected it.

CaseSittingComplaintOutcome
ASF 156/202427 Dec 2024Assets frozen, card blocked 17 June 2024Release refused
ASF 224/202428 Mar 2025Marketing-campaign reward not honouredDismissed — no competence
ASF 021/202520 Jun 2025Account blocked a year, €168.93 of it on the cardRefused; ordered to keep him informed
ASF 212/202531 Dec 2025Four Priority Pass lounge visits withdrawnDismissed — no competence
ASF 335/202530 Jan 2026Spotify, Netflix rebates and lounge access withdrawnDismissed — no competence
ASF 310/202515 Jun 2026€32,273 sent to a fraudulent platformPartly upheld — €12,909 plus 2.40% interest
ASF 259/202522 Jun 2026Unauthorised €2,750 top-up, PSD2 (Foris MT Ltd)Discontinued; no case seen
ASF 281/202530 Jun 2026Third-party investment scamNot upheld
ASF 318/202530 Jun 2026Funds unrecoverable; “lack of justification”Dismissed
ASF 235/202517 Jul 2026Third-party scam (Trade Pro platform)Not upheld
ASF 084/202623 Sep 2026Third-party investment scamNot upheld

All eleven read in full, 29 October 2026. A twelfth, ASF 328/2025, is cited in the dismissals above but was not read for this article.

One award in eleven, and it went to a scam victim rather than a cardholder: ASF 310/2025 ordered €12,909, 40% of a €32,273 loss, for “failure to offer Complainant the protection afforded by MiCA and Travel Rule regulations”, the rest resting on contributory negligence, and sent the decision to the MFSA. Every complaint about the card or account itself failed. ASF 021/2025 carries the reasoning to know: because the conduct complained of “is very specific to the Complainant and has no general application to the great majority of clients”, it did not follow that the provider was “acting capriciously, unethically or illegally”. That cardholder had fourteen asset lines frozen, €1,766.98 in a cash wallet and €168.93 on the card, and won an order that he be kept “regularly informed, within the limits allowed by law”.

Two scope rules before filing in Malta: the provider must be licensed by the Malta Financial Services Authority, and the complaint must be in Maltese or English. The decision is then “legally binding on the parties”, subject only to appeal within 20 days.

Table of the eleven published decisions of Malta's Arbiter for Financial Services naming Foris DAX MT Limited or Foris MT Limited, all read in full on 29 October 2026. ASF 156/2024 refused release of frozen assets. ASF 224/2024, ASF 212/2025 and ASF 335/2025 were each dismissed for want of competence over rewards, lounge visits and subscription rebates. ASF 021/2025 was refused but the provider was ordered to keep the complainant informed. ASF 310/2025 was partly upheld at 12,909 euro plus 2.40 per cent interest on a 32,273 euro loss. ASF 259/2025 was discontinued. ASF 281/2025, ASF 235/2025 and ASF 084/2026 on third-party scams were not upheld, and ASF 318/2025 was dismissed

The same complaint, two answers

Put two rulings side by side and the map stops being abstract. Both are complaints that a card promotion paid less than promised, decided within four months of each other, and they came out opposite ways for a reason that has nothing to do with either complainant.

In Malta, ASF 224/2024 concerned a reward that fell due on 19 October 2024 and was paid as 4,800 CRO at a later price, which the provider called an exception on the basis that nothing was owed. The Arbiter accepted its argument that he had “no competence to adjudge a matter concerning marketing terms and conditions not related to any financial service or products” and dismissed it unheard; ASF 212/2025 and ASF 335/2025 followed it — the thread our crypto card perks audit picks up.

In the UK, DRN-6054093 concerned a £100 reward for 20 card transactions that paid £30. Wirex argued the promotion belonged to Wirex Digital Services s.r.l rather than Wirex Limited, and pointed at a clause disclaiming liability to participants. The ombudsman took jurisdiction anyway — “Wirex offered the promotion to its UK customers as part of opening up a Wirex UK account” — read the four reward tiers, found 16 qualifying transactions when the promotion was pulled early and so £70 due, and held the £140 already paid to be fair. He did not win the full amount; he got a hearing, and £40 of it for the inconvenience of chasing it.

What your crypto is worth when they value it

Every blocked-account complaint arrives with the same hope attached: the coins were worth more while they were frozen. Two decisions answer it, in the same direction.

In DRN-3780531 the complainant said the restrictions stopped her selling at a peak. The ombudsman awarded 8% simple interest on the £185.90 of fiat returned and refused interest on the cryptoassets, because “these assets were not money, nor were they converted into money. These are speculative assets — their value fluctuates.” In DRN-5667499, where the complaint was upheld, the refund was ordered as “the equivalent in pounds of the cryptocurrency sent, with the exchange calculated on the day of the loss (not based on the value of the cryptocurrency today)”.

So price a block, not a portfolio. The fiat attracts 8% simple interest for the time you were kept out of it; the coins attract their value on the day, and the upside you missed is nobody's liability. That asymmetry is a reason to keep less crypto on a card than the cashback tier tempts you to — see what protects a card balance.

Australia prints the route on the product

One programme in nine puts the whole ladder on the product page, and it is not one of the big brands. OKX's Australian card ships a Product Disclosure Statement naming the issuer (Bano Pty Ltd, ABN 93 643 260 431, AFSL 536984) and distributor (OKX Australia Pty Ltd), giving a complaints email and phone number, undertaking a “written response providing the final outcome no later than 30 days”, and naming the external body: the Australian Financial Complaints Authority, with website, email, free phone line and postal address, plus a warning that “time limits may apply”.

It is candid about what you are not getting, too: the issuer “is not currently a subscriber to the voluntary ePayments Code”, the card is not a deposit account and carries no depositor protection, and your contractual relationship is with the issuer, not OKX. Each of those the other eight leave you to work out.

In the US it is a database and an arbitration clause

The US picture differs in kind. Crypto.com's US prepaid agreement names Community Federal Savings Bank as issuer and Foris, Inc. as program manager, gives you 60 days from first access or statement to report an error, and carries the disclosure every prepaid card must: “If you have a complaint about a prepaid account, call the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau at 1-855-411-2372 or visit cfpb.gov/complaint.”

That is a database, not an adjudicator: it forwards your complaint and publishes the firm's response, and cannot order a refund. Filling the gap is Section 31, which mentions arbitration 65 times, with a class-action waiver, JAMS or the AAA as administrator, and one way out — a signed rejection sent “by certified mail, return receipt requested” and received within 45 days after the date you receive the first Card. Almost nobody does that in their first 45 days, which is the point of the window. For a disputed transaction rather than conduct, our chargebacks guide has the Regulation E deadlines.

Where there is no route at all

Three programmes have no external body at all, and they fail in three different ways. KAST's non-US cardholder agreement names Third National as issuer, says “any complaint should be sent to KAST”, then routes every dispute into binding individual arbitration under the American Arbitration Association's Commercial Arbitration Rules, with a class waiver and no jury trial. For Nigerian users it adds BANEX Microfinance Bank Limited, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. So a non-US cardholder contracts with a US issuer and arbitrates under US rules.

Plutus does the opposite and says so plainly. Its complaints clause is one of the better ones — free of charge, a documented response inside 15 business days and never past 35 — and it then states that complaints about its rewards system “and other crypto-asset-related matters are not generally within the remit of financial regulators such as the Bank of Lithuania”. Disclosed, which is more than Malta's cardholders had before they filed.

XKard is the shortest answer in the set: 241 words of terms, last updated 4 June 2025, stating that the operator is XHYPE FZCO of Dubai Silicon Oasis, that “we are not a card issuer”, and that disputes go to “the courts of Dubai” under UAE law. No procedure, no deadline, no named issuer, no ombudsman. Nexo fails differently: its terms page never served its own text, so we cannot report a clause either way.

Screenshot of the Financial Ombudsman Service's own Time limits page for consumers, under the breadcrumb Consumer, Complaints we can help with, What to expect, listing the three things the page covers: how long you have to complain to a financial business, time limits for a business to reply, and how long you have to complain to the ombudsman after receiving the final response

How to complain so the complaint survives

Nineteen decisions is enough to see what separates a complaint that gets decided from one that gets forgotten. None of this is legal advice.

  1. Name the right company — the entity in your cardholder agreement, not the app name.
  2. Use the word “complaint”, in writing. A support ticket does not start the clock; ASF 318/2025 turned on having gone through the internal procedure to a final response.
  3. Frame it around the regulated part — the card, the e-money balance, the payment, the closure. The coins are the part that falls outside jurisdiction.
  4. Diarise the deadline: 15 days in the UK for payments and e-money, 15 working days in Malta, 30 days on the OKX Australian card. When it passes with no final response, escalate anyway.
  5. Escalate inside 6 months of the final response in the UK; register in Malta within 2 years of learning what happened.
  6. Ask for what these decisions award: release of the fiat, 8% simple interest for the period you were kept out of it, and a sum for distress and inconvenience.
  7. Export everything first. Statements, your tier, the promotion terms, every dated reply. Several cases turned on what the firm could evidence and the complainant could not.

Check the route before you load the card

Kardd reads what each programme publishes — issuer, regulator, fees, limits and the clauses behind them — so you can tell a card with an ombudsman behind it from one with a court in another country.

Kardd may earn a commission on sign-ups, including XKard. Affiliate disclosure.

Final take

The ladder exists and is worth climbing, but read the nineteen rulings for what they are. A free, independent body will hear you if your issuer is authorised somewhere that runs one — and on the published record it usually finds the firm was entitled to block, close and decline to explain, paying a few hundred pounds when it took too long about it.

Which makes the route a selection criterion rather than a safety net. A named external body in the terms, like AFCA on the OKX Australian card, tells you the firm expects to answer to somebody. Binding arbitration with a class waiver, a rewards programme disclosed as outside the regulator's remit, or 241 words ending at the courts of Dubai tell you the opposite. Check that column before you put a balance on the card, because the complaint you cannot make is the cheapest one for everybody but you.

Sources

All read on 29 October 2026. Financial Ombudsman Service, “How to complain” (8 weeks, 15 days for payments, e-money and scams; 6 months; free), “Time limits” (6 and 3 years) and “Compensation” (£455,000 / £205,000); decisions DRN-5941317, DRN-5127266, DRN-3780531, DRN-3422389, DRN-5024631, DRN-3855178, DRN-5667499 and DRN-6054093. Arbiter for Financial Services, step 1 (15 working days, 35 maximum, 2 years from knowledge) and step 3 (free; MFSA-licensed providers only); decisions ASF 224/2024, ASF 021/2025 and ASF 310/2025, with ASF 156/2024, 212/2025, 235/2025, 259/2025, 281/2025, 318/2025, 335/2025 and 084/2026 from the same decisions register. Provider documents: Crypto.com Prepaid Visa Cardholder Agreement, OKX Card Product Disclosure Statement, Plutus terms and conditions, KAST Cardholder Agreement and XKard terms and conditions. Nexo served no terms text; Wirex's card, pricing and plans URLs returned 404; Bybit, Coinbase, Gemini and RedotPay refused the request.

Related Articles

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take a crypto card complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service?

Yes, if the entity that ran your card is UK-authorised: there are published decisions against FORISGFS UK Limited, Wirex Limited and Optimus Cards UK Limited. Crypto itself is unregulated, but per DRN-5127266 the service hears complaints involving it “where it is ancillary to another regulated activity”.

How long does a crypto card issuer have to answer my complaint?

In the UK, 8 weeks for most complaints but only 15 days for payment services, e-money and scams — where a crypto card complaint sits. Malta allows 15 working days, never more than 35; Plutus publishes the same; OKX promises 30 days on its Australian card. Crypto.com's US agreement publishes none.

How much can an ombudsman award over a crypto card?

The UK ceiling is £455,000 for complaints referred on or after 1 April 2026 about acts on or after 1 April 2019, and £205,000 for earlier acts. Real awards are nowhere near it: the largest of eight were £250 and £200 plus 8% interest, and Malta's largest of eleven was €12,909, in a scam case.

Who do I complain about if the brand and the issuer differ?

The regulated entity. The rulings name FORISGFS UK Limited, Foris DAX MT Limited, Optimus Cards UK Limited and Wirex Limited; the terms name Community Federal Savings Bank, Bano Pty Ltd and Third National. Complain to whichever your cardholder agreement names.

Will an ombudsman get my frozen crypto card funds released?

Usually not. Two of six UK blocked-account complaints were upheld, both over the speed rather than the block, and all four Maltese ones failed. In ASF 021/2025 the Arbiter refused release but ordered the provider to keep the complainant “regularly informed”.

Will they compensate me for the crypto price I missed?

No. DRN-3780531 awarded 8% interest on the fiat and refused it on the cryptoassets, which were “not money” but “speculative assets”. DRN-5667499 refunded at the sterling equivalent on the day of the loss, “not based on the value of the cryptocurrency today”.

What if my provider is not regulated anywhere I can complain?

Then it is a court, and you want to know that before you load the card. XKard's 241 words of terms name no procedure and send disputes to the courts of Dubai; KAST routes them into binding AAA arbitration with a class waiver; Plutus says its rewards sit outside the Bank of Lithuania's remit.

Related Articles

Better offers. Fewer surprises.

Free updates on crypto card offers, fee changes and new ways to spend. One useful email a week, when there’s something worth sharing.

We may earn commission from affiliate links on this site at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure