Blog/Guides

Crypto Card DCC 2026: The Third Conversion

Kardd Team|October 21, 2026|13 min read
KEY TAKEAWAYS12 PROGRAMMES READ21 OCTOBER 2026
  • Accepting the prompt does not cancel your card's foreign fee, because that fee is charged on a country. Crypto.com's US agreement charges 3% on transactions “made in a foreign country”; MetaMask's 1% cross-border fee means “using card with merchant located outside of cardholder country”.
  • Visa's published rules make dynamic currency conversion optional in writing. Rule 5.8.9.2 forbids pre-selecting it, requires express agreement on a customer-facing screen, and forbids “any additional requirements” for paying in the local currency.
  • If it happened without your agreement, the dispute covers the whole amount. Visa Dispute Condition 12.3 names DCC without express agreement as a dispute reason, and its published right “applies for the entire Transaction amount”.
  • EU and UK law oblige the converter to tell you that you can refuse. Article 3a(4) of Regulation 924/2009 requires the party converting at an ATM or till to inform you “of the possibility of paying in the currency used by the payee” — a duty now listed for revocation by Schedule 1 of the Financial Services and Markets Act 2023.
  • Not one of the twelve programmes we read mentions DCC, and eight publish nothing you could price the alternative with. Plutus's 13,328-word EEA terms contain no instance of “exchange rate”.
Affiliate Disclosure: Kardd.co may earn a commission on some sign-ups. No commercial relationship changed a figure here. Every fee, rule and clause below was read from the scheme's, regulator's or programme's own document on 21 October 2026. Full disclosure. Nothing here is legal or financial advice.

The card terminal in Lisbon asks whether you want to pay in euros or dollars, and the honest answer is that the question is not about currency at all. Crypto card dynamic currency conversion — DCC, the prompt's formal name — inserts a third party into a payment that has already converted your money twice, and it is the only one of the three whose rate nobody publishes anywhere. So on 21 October 2026 we read the scheme rulebook, two statutes and twelve programmes' own fee documents to answer the question travel blogs skip: on a crypto card, what does declining actually buy you? The surprise is not that DCC is expensive. It is that the fee you were trying to dodge does not move either way.

The prompt is selling you a currency, not a price

A crypto card payment abroad has layers. Your tokens become spendable fiat on the programme's books, and that fiat becomes the merchant's currency through the scheme or your issuer. Both are the subject of our crypto card exchange rates piece, and both happen on documents you can go and read.

DCC is a third conversion, offered by a party you have no relationship with: the merchant, its acquirer, or the ATM operator. They convert the amount into your card's billing currency on the spot, at their own rate, and send the transaction to your issuer already denominated in your money. The convenience is real. The rate is the part nobody quotes in advance.

Why this matters more on a crypto card: a bank card has one published FX cost to compare the DCC rate against. A crypto card has two conversions of its own, and on several programmes neither is published — so you are declining a price you cannot see in favour of a price you also cannot see.

The fee you cannot escape is charged on a country

Here is the misconception that costs money: that being billed in your home currency makes the transaction no longer “foreign”, so your card's foreign fee drops away. Read the definitions and it falls apart, because the triggers are geographic.

The Crypto.com US prepaid cardholder agreement is explicit. Its Schedule A note on the Foreign Transaction Fee reads: “a fee of 3% will be charged on the USD amount of the transaction. This includes transactions made in a foreign country, online with a foreign merchant, and withdrawals made at a foreign ATM.” The fee lands on the USD amount — precisely what DCC hands over — and triggers on the country.

The MetaMask Card does the same in a footnote. Its fee page prices a “Cross-border” fee of 1% on the free tier, and footnote 3 defines it as “Using card with merchant located outside of cardholder country”. Location, not denomination.

ProgrammePublished foreign/cross-border feeWhat triggers it, in its own words
Crypto.com (US prepaid Visa)3% on four tiers; no charge on Icy White, Obsidian, Frosted Rose Gold“transactions made in a foreign country, online with a foreign merchant, and withdrawals made at a foreign ATM” — country
MetaMask Card1% free tier; no fee on Metal, “subject to fair usage”“Using card with merchant located outside of cardholder country” — country
Nexo Card0.2% weekday / 0.7% weekend (EEA, UK, CH); 2% / 2.5% rest of world“depend on the day of the week” — region and calendar
Gemini Credit Card“No foreign transaction fees”None — the fee does not exist
Bitget Wallet CardNo figure; “standard fees apply once you exceed your monthly assetback allowance”Not stated
BleapNo conversion or international row in the Pricing Disclosure (12 March 2026)Points outward: “Your bank or card provider may charge their own fees”
KASTNo rate; charges “may include … foreign exchange variances”At the company's discretion

Foreign-transaction pricing and its trigger, read from each programme's own document. Kardd, 21 October 2026.

What declining actually costs, card by card

“Always decline” is correct advice and incomplete analysis. Declining does not make the conversion free; it moves it to your issuer or the scheme, and that price varies more across crypto cards than any travel guide admits.

On the Crypto.com US card, section 19 describes the fallback precisely: “Visa will convert the charge into a USD amount. The Visa currency conversion procedure includes use of either a government mandated exchange rate, or a wholesale exchange rate selected by Visa. The exchange rate Visa uses will be a rate in effect on the day the transaction is processed.” The same section states the Foreign Transaction Fee “is in addition to the currency conversion rate” — two charges, named separately, both yours.

ProgrammeWho converts if you declineRate source named in its own documentFee on top
Crypto.com (US)Visa“government mandated” or “wholesale exchange rate selected by Visa”, on the processing day3% (four tiers)
MetaMask CardNot stated; token denomination decides the feeNone named1% cross-border, plus 0.5% if the stablecoin matches neither country
Nexo CardNexoNone named on the card page0.2%–2.5%, by region and day
Bitget Wallet CardBitget Wallet“settlement rates closely match Google's live rates”Unquantified
Gemini Credit CardMastercardNone named on the card pageNone
KASTCompany and issuer, at discretionNone named; liability for “currency conversions” disclaimed“foreign exchange variances”
Plutus, Bleap, Bybit, Wirex, OKX, CoinbaseUnanswerable from any document we could readNoneNot published

The fallback price of declining DCC, where the programme publishes one. Kardd, 21 October 2026.

Read the two tables together and a ranking appears that has nothing to do with cashback. A card that publishes its fallback rate source and its fee lets you check whether the terminal is robbing you; a card that publishes neither leaves you deciding on faith. The Bitget Wallet Card is the middle case: “settlement rates closely match Google's live rates” is at least falsifiable, and it is the only programme here to name any benchmark.

Visa's own rules make dynamic currency conversion optional

The strongest document here is not a card's terms. It is the Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, 18 April 2026 edition, published openly as a PDF. Section 5.8.9.2 lists what a merchant, ATM acquirer or branch offering DCC must do, and it is a list of protections most cardholders have never been told exist.

Visa rule (18 Apr 2026 edition)What it obliges
5.8.9.2, ID# 0003100“Inform the Cardholder that DCC is optional and not use any language or procedures (for example: pre-selecting the DCC option) that may cause the Cardholder to choose DCC by default”
5.8.9.2“Ensure that the Cardholder expressly agrees to DCC”, and in a card-present setting requires that agreement “by directly interfacing with a customer-facing screen or handheld Acceptance Device”
5.8.9.2“Not impose any additional requirements on the Cardholder to have the Transaction processed in the local currency”
5.8.9.2“Not misrepresent, either explicitly or implicitly, that its DCC service is a Visa service”
Table 5-34, receipt contentBoth amounts with currency symbols, the conversion rate, the “currency conversion commission, fees, markup, or margin on the exchange rate over a wholesale rate or government-mandated rate”, a visible statement that you were offered a choice and agreed, and that the conversion is done by the merchant or ATM acquirer

Visa's published DCC obligations, from the public Visa Rules PDF, 18 April 2026 edition. Kardd, 21 October 2026.

The receipt row is the practically useful one: the mark-up has to be printed, so a terminal that shows a converted total with no percentage beside it is already short of the paperwork. Section 12.3.3.1 provides for non-compliance assessments where an audit finds a merchant breaching the DCC requirements, so these are enforced against merchants rather than suggested to them.

The dispute almost nobody files

Visa goes further than disclosure. Dispute Condition 12.3, “Incorrect Currency” (ID# 0030285), lets an issuer raise a dispute where “Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC) occurred and the Cardholder did not expressly agree to DCC or was refused the choice of paying in the Merchant's local currency” or the ATM's. The published right is not partial: “The Dispute applies for the entire Transaction amount.”

The catch is the route, not the rule. A dispute is raised by your issuer, so the remedy only reaches you if your programme actually operates a dispute process. That is the whole subject of our crypto card chargebacks audit, and it is why who issues your card decides whether a scheme right is a right or a sentence in a PDF.

What EU and UK law require at the terminal

Scheme rules bind merchants through contracts. In Europe there is statute on top. Article 3a of Regulation (EC) No 924/2009, inserted by Regulation (EU) 2019/518 and codified in the EU as Article 4 of Regulation (EU) 2021/1230, addresses “parties providing currency conversion services at an automated teller machine (ATM) or at the point of sale” — the DCC provider, not your issuer.

ProvisionWhat the DCC party must do
Art. 3a(1)“express the total currency conversion charges as a percentage mark-up over the latest available euro foreign exchange reference rates issued by the European Central Bank”, before the payment is initiated
Art. 3a(3)Also give, beforehand, “the amount to be paid to the payee in the currency used by the payee” and “the amount to be paid by the payer in the currency of the payer's account”
Art. 3a(4)Display the mark-up at the ATM or till, and “inform the payer of the possibility of paying in the currency used by the payee” and having the conversion “performed by the payer's payment service provider”; both sets of information must also reach the payer “on a durable medium” afterwards
Art. 3a(7)All of it “free of charge and in a neutral and comprehensible manner”
PSD2, Art. 59(2)The party offering conversion at an ATM, till or by the payee “shall disclose to the payer all charges as well as the exchange rate to be used”, and “the payer shall agree to the currency conversion service on that basis”

Disclosure duties on whoever offers the conversion, as published on legislation.gov.uk. Kardd, 21 October 2026.

Paragraph 4 is the sleeper. It is not merely a right to decline; it is a duty on the other side to tell you that declining exists. A terminal in the EEA presenting a converted total with no percentage mark-up and no mention of the alternative is a disclosure failure on their side, not an awkward choice on yours.

One date for UK readers. The text above is the retained version on legislation.gov.uk, carrying amendments in force on or before 21 October 2026, and the same page records an outstanding effect: the regulation is “revoked by 2023 c. 29 Sch. 1 Pt. 1” — Schedule 1 of the Financial Services and Markets Act 2023, which switches off retained EU financial law in tranches, most recently on 13 July 2026. The repeal is not yet applied to this text, so the duty still reads as law while queued for removal.

The benchmark the law chose is one the ECB tells you not to use

Article 3a(1) pins the mark-up to the ECB's euro foreign exchange reference rates. Go and read what the ECB says about them. Its own page states that the rates “are usually updated at around 16:00 CET every working day, except on TARGET closing days”, that they come from “the daily concertation procedure between central banks across Europe, which normally takes place around 14:10 CET”, and then, flatly: “The reference rates are published for information purposes only. Using the rates for transaction purposes is strongly discouraged.”

Both halves matter. A reference published on working days only has no Saturday value, so a Sunday-night mark-up is measured against Friday afternoon's snapshot — a fair common yardstick, useless as a live price. A standard built on a rate whose publisher discourages transactional use tells you what the duty is for: comparability between offers, not accuracy against the market.

What that means at the till: a DCC mark-up quoted against the ECB reference rate is a number you can compare between two terminals, not the gap between the offer and the real market. For that gap you want the scheme rate your own card falls back to, which is why the second table is the one worth reading before you travel.

Weekends cost more, and not at the terminal

One programme in our set prices the calendar. The Nexo card's own FAQ states that “the respective foreign transaction (FX) fees depend on the day of the week of the transaction”, and publishes four numbers: weekdays 0.2% for the EEA, UK and Switzerland and 2% for the rest of the world; weekends 0.7% and 2.5%.

A half-point weekend premium is not a scandal — markets are shut, and whoever holds the position carries the risk. It is a reason to stop treating “what does my card charge” as one number: on Nexo the fallback is three and a half times more expensive on a Saturday than a Tuesday inside Europe. That does not make accepting DCC the better bet, since it still adds an unquoted margin and leaves the geographic fee untouched; it means the gap you are saving narrows on exactly the days most people are out spending.

What twelve programmes' own documents say

We searched every programme document we could reach for “dynamic currency”, “DCC”, “currency conversion” and “exchange rate”. The count is the finding: zero of twelve mention DCC.

ProgrammeDocument read 21 Oct 2026DCC named?Conversion terms found
Crypto.com (US)Cardholder agreement + Schedule A (PDF, 13,837 words)NoFull: converter, rate basis, timing, fee
MetaMask CardLimits and fees pageNoFee matrix by token denomination and merchant country
Nexo CardCard page FAQNoFour FX rates by region and weekday/weekend
Bitget Wallet CardCard page FAQNoA benchmark claim, no figure
Gemini Credit CardCredit card pageNo“No foreign transaction fees”
KASTTerms and Conditions of Service (9,290 words)No“foreign exchange variances”; liability for conversions disclaimed
BleapPricing Disclosure, updated 12 March 2026 (761 words)NoNone; refers you to “your bank or card provider”
PlutusEEA terms and conditions (13,328 words)NoNone — zero instances of “exchange rate”
OKX CardCard pageNoNone on the page
Bybit CardHelp-centre terms articleUnreadable“This article is currently not supported on this site”, last updated “undefined”
Wirex, Coinbase CardConsumer terms URL; legal page and help centreUnreadableHTTP 404 and HTTP 403 to our requests

Disclosure audit of twelve crypto card programmes. Kardd, 21 October 2026. “Unreadable” means the document would not serve to us, not that it does not exist.

The silence is not sinister on its own: DCC is the merchant's product, so a card's terms have no duty to describe it. What the audit shows is that eight of twelve leave you unable to price the alternative, and that is their own document's job. Plutus is the sharpest case — 13,328 words governing a card marketed for spending across the EEA, and not one of them is “exchange rate”. Bleap's is the oddest: a pricing disclosure promising “there are no hidden markups” that sends you to “your bank or card provider” for international transaction fees, on a product where it is closer to being the card provider than your bank is.

Thirty seconds at the terminal

The decision is easy once you know what is being sold. The homework is what makes it fast.

  1. Before you travel, find two numbers: your programme's foreign or cross-border fee, and what triggers it. If the trigger names a country, accepting DCC saves nothing.
  2. Decline the home-currency option unless you have seen the terminal's mark-up in writing and it beats your own card's.
  3. Look for the percentage. On Visa the mark-up over a wholesale or government-mandated rate is required receipt content, so no percentage anywhere is itself a red flag.
  4. If the choice was never offered, or home currency was pre-selected, keep the receipt: Dispute Condition 12.3 covers the whole amount.
  5. Check the day if you hold a card that prices it: a weekend fallback can be several times the weekday one.
  6. At an ATM, decide twice: the conversion and the operator's withdrawal fee are separate charges, as our ATM fee comparison sets out.

We read the fee documents so you can compare them

Kardd tracks the published foreign-transaction basis, the conversion terms and the custody model for every card we cover — the fields that decide what spending abroad costs.

Kardd may earn a commission on sign-ups, including XKard. Affiliate disclosure.

Final take

Dynamic currency conversion is worse on a crypto card than on a bank card, and not because the margin is bigger: it is worse because the thing you would compare it against is usually missing. Eight of the twelve programmes we read give you nothing to measure the offer with, so the standard advice to decline is right for a reason the reader cannot check.

The rules are in better shape than the disclosures. Visa says DCC must be optional, unprompted and receipted with its mark-up shown, and gives you a whole-amount dispute if it was not. European law says the converter must show both amounts and tell you that you can refuse, while the UK statute carrying that duty sits on a revocation list. Meanwhile the fee most people think they are dodging triggers on the merchant's country and does not move. Learn your card's two numbers before the next trip and the prompt stops being a decision.

Sources

All read on 21 October 2026. Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, 18 April 2026 edition — 5.8.9.1 (ID# 0025740), 5.8.9.2 (ID# 0003100), Table 5-34, 11.9.2 (ID# 0030285), 12.3.3.1; Regulation (EC) No 924/2009, Article 3a and Article 1, as published on legislation.gov.uk; Directive (EU) 2015/2366, Article 59; Financial Services and Markets Act 2023, Schedule 1; ECB euro foreign exchange reference rates; Crypto.com US prepaid cardholder agreement (section 19 and Schedule A); MetaMask Card limits and fees; Nexo Card; Bitget Wallet Card; Gemini Credit Card; KAST terms; Bleap Pricing Disclosure; Plutus EEA terms; OKX Card. Bybit's card terms article served “This article is currently not supported on this site” for the second read in five days; Wirex's consumer terms URL returned 404 and Coinbase refused our requests with 403.

Related Articles

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I accept dynamic currency conversion on a crypto card?

In almost every case, no. It adds a third converter to a payment that already has two, and it does not remove your card's foreign fee, because that fee usually triggers on where the merchant is rather than which currency arrives. Crypto.com's US agreement charges 3% for a transaction “made in a foreign country”; the MetaMask Card's 1% cross-border fee is defined by merchant location.

Is dynamic currency conversion optional?

Yes, and Visa's published rules say so. Rule 5.8.9.2 requires a merchant, ATM acquirer or branch to inform you that DCC is optional, forbids “pre-selecting the DCC option”, requires your express agreement on a customer-facing screen, and forbids imposing “any additional requirements” on you for paying in the local currency.

Can I dispute a transaction where DCC was applied without my agreement?

On Visa there is a dispute condition for exactly that. Dispute Condition 12.3, Incorrect Currency, covers DCC that “occurred and the Cardholder did not expressly agree”, and the published right applies for the entire transaction amount. The obstacle on a crypto card is the route rather than the rule: you need an issuer that will raise it.

What must a DCC receipt show?

Visa's Table 5-34 requires both amounts with currency symbols, the conversion rate, the “commission, fees, markup, or margin on the exchange rate over a wholesale rate or government-mandated rate”, a visible statement that you were offered a choice and agreed, and a statement that the conversion is done by the merchant or ATM acquirer, not Visa.

Does EU law give me a right at the terminal?

It gives you disclosure rights against whoever offers the conversion. Article 3a of Regulation 924/2009 requires that party to express its total charges as a percentage mark-up over the latest available ECB euro reference rates, to show both amounts, and to inform you that you may pay in the payee's currency and let your own provider convert.

Does declining DCC always save money on a crypto card?

It replaces a hidden margin with one you can look up, which is better rather than free. On the Crypto.com US card the fallback is Visa's conversion plus the 3% fee on four tiers. On the Nexo card it is 0.2% on a weekday against 0.7% at the weekend inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland, and 2% against 2.5% elsewhere.

Do crypto card terms mention dynamic currency conversion at all?

None of the twelve programmes we read on 21 October 2026 mentions it. Plutus's EEA terms run 13,328 words with no instance of “exchange rate”, and Bleap's pricing disclosure has no conversion section and points at “your bank or card provider”. Bybit's terms article would not load; Wirex's returned a 404.

Related Articles

Better offers. Fewer surprises.

Free updates on crypto card offers, fee changes and new ways to spend. One useful email a week, when there’s something worth sharing.

We may earn commission from affiliate links on this site at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure